Deleted items, still show with the status of Withdrawn after the expected time, in which they should have been permanently deleted from the system (purged)
When running Inventory reports, items may display even though you believe you have had them deleted. These will have the status of withdrawn
- Deleted items, still show with the status of Withdrawn in Circulation and in the Circulation Item Inventory Report after the item retention period has passed. The LHR is still editable within Record Manager.
- WorldShare Circulation
- WorldShare Reports
WorldShare waits for the amount of time entered in Service Configuration > WMS Circulation > Admin General > Deleted Items before purging items. The process that purges items run once a week on Sunday evenings. There is no way to purge these items outside of this process.
If your settings are set to 0, all items will stay in the system in Withdrawn status until the Sunday night following when you deleted them.
If you find that Withdrawn items are remaining past Sunday following the end of your deleted item retention period, contact OCLC Support with a sample title/s, OCLC number, and the link to this article.
Only items with the circulation status of Withdrawn (Available), Withdrawn (Unavailable), or Withdrawn (Missing) will be purged.
NOTE: Best Practice to avoid having items remaining on your system with the status of Withdrawn (as seen in the Inventory Report) is to always check in items at their home branch prior to deletion, to ensure the purge process will occur.