Doorgaan naar de website
OCLC Support

Delete copies

Learn about deleting copy records from the title in OLIB.

Checks performed

A number of checks are carried out to ensure that deleting title or copy records would not result in data corruption in your database, as follows:

  • none of the Copy records should be on loan or held
  • none of the Copy records should have a trap set on it
  • none of the Copy/Title records should have any active/held reservations
  • the Title should not be on a serial circulation list
  • the Title should not be cross-referenced to or from another title

If any of the above checks fail, a suitable error message is displayed, and you should resolve the reason for the failure to delete, before attempting to delete the record again.

Delete copies

One or more copies can be quickly deleted from within a title record.

In modify mode:

  1. In Availability check the box next to one or more copies you would like to delete.
  2. Click the Delete link. OLIB prompts if you want to delete these nn copies.

The copies are deleted depending on whether or not this is the last copy.

In view mode:

  1. In Availability check the box next to one or more copies you would like to delete.
  2. In Actions select Delete Copy / Delete Copies with checks.

The copies are deleted depending on whether or not this is the last copy.

Copies linked to order items

It may or may not be possible to delete a copy that is linked to an order item in Acquisitions. This is dependent on a setting in OLIB Defaults and Locations: Funds/Acquisitions/Serials Defaults: Allow Copy Deletion With Order Items?

  • If set to No in OLIB Defaults (or the logged in user's Location), OLIB does not allow deletion of a copy linked to an un-archived order item
  • If set to Yes or null, deletion is allowed

If the flag is not set in the user's Location, OLIB will go by the setting in OLIB Defaults. If all your libraries operate the same way, the system manager can just set it once in OLIB Defaults.

Delete copies with outstanding charges

Copies can be deleted even when there are outstanding charges associated with them.

When you delete the record, OLIB terminates any accruing fine and automatically waives the outstanding charges using the BDELC Waive Type.

If the copy record is deleted via the batch deletion process, the charges are automatically waived using the BDELB Waive Type.

The charge itself is converted from a "System Generated Fine" to an "Outstanding fine on a deleted copy" charge.

Delete title after deleting the last copy

The system manager can optionally configure settings in OLIB Cataloguing Defaults that have an effect on OLIB's behaviour and the messages OLIB displays, when you try to delete the last copy of a title. The system manager can configure OLIB so that optionally, the Title record is also deleted.

 Note: the title record is not actually deleted. It is simply added to the Titles For Auto-Deletion folder. It will be deleted properly during the following day’s daystart. This gives the operator a chance to remove it from the Titles For Auto-Deletion folder if they did not in fact want the title record to be deleted for whatever reason.

Warn before delete last copy of title?
In OLIB Defaults, if this is set to Yes, the cataloguer will be prompted whether they want to delete the last copy of a title:

Are you sure you want to delete this copy:nn?

If set to No, there is no warning and copy deletion proceeds.

Auto. delete title when last copy deleted?
If OLIB Defaults has this set to Yes, the title record will be added to the Titles for Auto-Deletion folder. If you are using the Delete link or the Delete [single] copy with checks action, OLIB displays the following message:

The last copy of this title has just been deleted. This title has therefore been added to the Titles For Auto-Deletion folder.

If you are using the Delete [multiple] copies with checks action, the following message is displayed

All copies deleted. Some titles were added to the Titles for Auto-Deletion folder because the last copy was deleted.
These should be reviewed before the next daystart, and removed [from the folder] if necessary.

Ask to delete title when last copy deleted
If OLIB Defaults has this set to Yes, OLIB displays this message:

All copies of this title have been deleted. Do you want to delete the title as well?

If you respond Yes to this message, the title record will be added to the Titles for Auto-Deletion folder. Responding No will leave the title record un-deleted.

If you are using the Delete [multiple] copies with checks action rather than the Delete link or the Delete [single] copy with checks action, OLIB displays the following message:

All copies deleted
Some titles were added to the Titles for Auto-Deletion folder because the last copy was deleted.These should be reviewed before the next daystart, and removed [from the folder] if necessary.

If any checks fail regarding loans, traps, reservations etc... the title is not added to the Titles for Auto-Deletion folder.

Delete copy with checks - copies domain

Copies can be deleted from the Copies domain hitlist including the above checks:

  1. In Copies, search for the copy e.g. via title.
  2. Check the box next to the copy you want to delete.
  3. In Other Actions select Delete copy with checks.

The copy is removed immediately and the screen refreshed - depending on settings for last copy removal as described above.

Bulk copies deletion

This feature uses the Copies domain hit list. It allows you to delete multiple copies running the same checks as above. However, instead of providing a message for each individual Copy that could not be deleted, OLIB adds a copy trap message and/or title trap message to the respective copy/title record, explaining why it could not be deleted and offering remedial action.

Procedure

  1. In the Copies domain, search for the copies for deletion.
  2. In the hit list, check the boxes to select the relevant copies for deletion.
  3. From Other Actions select Delete Copies with Checks.
  4. OLIB prompts you for confirmation, listing the barcodes.

After you respond Yes, OLIB displays a generic message once all copies have been deleted or otherwise. It indicates that some copies/titles could not be deleted, and to refer to the individual trap messages for an explanation.

View the trap messages and take action

  1. Carry out a search in the Copies domain refined by Domain=Traps; Refinement=Standard Trap Messages.
  2. Choose traps from the filter options so that OLIB displays copy records that could not be deleted.
  3. When you click the link for the copy, you can view the trap and take relevant action.

Titles for auto-deletion

For bulk deletions, OLIB also implements these functions by adding a trap message to the title record. OLIB also adds the title to the Titles For Auto-Deletion folder:

  • Warn Before Delete Last Copy Of Title (if set to No)
  • Delete Title When Last Copy Has Been Deleted (if set to Yes)

A generic message is displayed to library staff at the end of deletions, if at least one title was added to the Titles For Auto-Deletion process as a result of the final copy being deleted and both the above parameters being set to Yes.

 Note: the titles may not be deleted during the next daystart if the data has been supplied to a 3rd party Discovery system. In this situation, the deletion will be sent to the 3rd party and the title will be deleted during the following day's daystart.

 

  • Heeft dit artikel u geholpen?